Andhra Pradesh had been in a chaotic situation due to Telangana issue, and many people were protesting in favor and against of the formation of Telangana. But now, Telangana successfully made it to the official states of India when the Parliament of India declared it as the 29th state of the nation on June 2, 2014.

This post covers the complete list of the districts that the new Telangana state comprises of. There are total 10 districts or Jilas that comes under Telangana premises:

  1. Hyderabad
  2. Adilabad
  3. Khammam
  4. Karimnagar
  5. Mahbubnagar
  6. Medak
  7. Nalgonda
  8. Nizamabad
  9. Rangareddy
  10. Warangal

Hyderabad, Warangal, Nizamabad and Karimnagar are four largest cities of Telangana in terms of area.


  • Cabinet approved the Telangana draft bill prepared by the Group of Ministers on December 5, 2013.
  • The bill awaited approval by Union Cabinet of India before Telangana becomes the 29th state of the union.
  • Bill approved by the Parliament on June 2, 2014 resulting in the official formation of Telangana
  • Cabinet of Telangana